Monday, March 31, 2014

Fix You by Christine Bell Blog Tour, Review and Giveaway

"Fresh, sexy, and addicting--you won't want to put it down!"—New York Times Bestselling Author Jen McLaughlin

FIX YOU is part one in the new adult McDaniels Brothers serials from USA TODAY Bestselling Author, Christine Bell. Fans of Monica Murphy, Jen McLaughlin, and H.M. Ward will be seduced by Bash and Olivia's story and will look forward to a new installment in this ongoing family saga every month!

Want to learn more about FIX YOU? Be sure to check out this exclusive interview with Christine Bell!

Follow the tour and win some awesome prizes!

Fix You, Bash and Olivia Book 1 by Christine Bell
Series: The McDaniels Brothers
Publisher: Christine Bell
Pub Date: March 31, 2014
Genre: New Adult

My Rating: 5.0/5.0

My Review:
What a wonderful first installment in this series.  It reads quick, I became fully invested in the characters and I cannot wait to read Fix You, Bash and Olivia Book 2. 

I was taken in from the first page and from the first moment that Sebastian "Bash" and Olivia's lives collide on one fateful evening.  And then I was held captive until the last word.  Now I am eagerly awaiting to see how their story continues, especially after that ending!

Olivia and Bash came to life for me on the page.  The book is shorter so there seems to be not much time for development, but I felt I really got to know both characters even in the short number of pages and I am cheering for them to overcome the issues that are before them, even though they seem mountainous.

Ms. Bell has crafted a very interesting story that is easy to read in one sitting and will have you wanting more.  I cannot wait for the second installment.  That was not enough of Bash and Olivia, I need more!  But it is an excellent start to a series.

About the Book:
Olivia Beckett’s once-charmed life is falling apart. Her family is about to lose everything, and she has almost no chance of continuing her college education. She can't even seek solace from her high school sweetheart. He's changed. She doesn't recognize the boy she used to know— his violent behavior is escalating and it scares the hell out of her. Her whole world is crumbling, and she has no one to turn to……

Sebastian “Bash” McDaniels is an up and comer in the boxing world working nights at the local college bar until he can land the fight of his dreams that will get him the hell out of Boston and away from his family's tragic past. He’s weeks from his goal when Olivia Beckett comes tumbling into his life in a flash of silky dark hair and haunted eyes. When he saves her from a potentially brutal beating, they begin to grow close, but Olivia's ex isn’t ready to let her go so easily.

Bash can't bring himself to walk away, but fixing Olivia just might leave him broken…

About the Author:

Christine Bell is the USA Today bestselling author of contemporary romances, and one half of the happiest couple in the world. She doesn't like clowns or bugs (except ladybugs, on account of their cute outfits), but loves movies, football, and playing Texas Hold 'Em. Writing is her passion, but if she had to pick another occupation, she’d be a wizard. She loves writing fun, sexy romance and deep, emotional new adult novels, but also hopes to one day publish something her dad can read without wanting to dig his eyes out with rusty spoons.
Subscribe to Christine’s mailing list for exclusive content, ARCs, giveaways and more!

A $50 e-giftcard to Amazon or Barnes & Noble (winner’s choice, open internationally) and an opportunity to have a character named after the winner in serial #3 of The McDaniels Brothers series!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

***I received this book from the publicist for an honest review.  I was not compensated in any other way except receiving the book for free.  ***

Bloggiesta Finish Line - What I accomplished

So Bloggiesta has come to an end and what have I accomplished?  First a rehash of my goals with what I completed, then I'll make some notes below.

My Goals:
  1. Update About Me/Contact page - I have done this recently so I'm going to leave it.
  2. Read some of Blog Design for Dummies books and think about putting information to work for my blog. - I did read the intro and the first chapter and it has  me thinking.  Can't wait to go back and read more and really start working with it.
  3. Write at least 4 backlogged reviews. - I wrote one.
  4. Get my Wednesday, Thursday and Friday memes ready for the next two weeks (at least, if industrious go even further). - Nope. Sigh.
  5. Get some of my tour posts ready to go except for the reviews so it's easy to post just before the tour date (I'm a procrastinator).  I'm going to go with a goal of at least 2 weeks worth. - I did about 4 posts, not what I hoped to, but I did accomplish something.
  6. Visit other blogs, learn things and comment.  Time to build up my community again, I have been very lax.  - Didn't do, but plan on working on this week.
  7. Do some of the mini-challenges. - Didn't do :(
  8. Do the last two weeks worth of Blog Clarity's 10-minute touch-ups. - I did this week's where I created my gravatar and linked it to both my email addresses.  That was easy once I reset my WordPress password.   
  9. Clean out my in-box, work through some of the review requests.  - I did get a good jump on this.  More work to be done, but I feel good about what I accomplished here.
So what happened?  I had great intentions but I fell short.  I did get ahead of my schedule on reading.  I spent time with my family, I spent some time cleaning and I spent some time doing some crochet.  So it was a wonderful weekend, I just didn't participate like I wanted.  But I have some ideas going. I plan on seeing what others did so I can keep adding to my ideas and I plan to continue working on my goals in the near future.  So while not a complete success, Bloggiesta managed to motivate me now and for the future!